Tricontahedral Solitudinarian

The name doesn't really mean anything

Hitagi: The Build, After-Action Report

Posted by Doug on September 21, 2009

For some reason, I could not get the Asus motherboard’s audio working with Ubuntu 8.04 “Hardy”, despite all my efforts, so I decided to go ahead and put 9.04 “Jaunty” on Hitagi, and what do you know?  It works great now.  I would rather have had an OS that would be supported for longer (Jaunty will be supported through October 2010, while Hardy will be supported until April 2011), but then again, if it doesn’t work with my hardware, those extra six months of support don’t mean much.

The 1 TB hard drive installed fairly easily, although I did have to resort to reading the instructions in order to get it to be recognized by Jaunty.  As an aside, hard drives are advertised with their storage space measured in GB (gigabytes) or TB (terabytes), while OS file systems measure them in GiB (gibibytes) or TiB (tebibytes).  Needless to say, this means the number listed on the packaging is going to be significantly larger (often 5-10% or more).  I’ve known this for a while, but I’m surprised that A) not very many people know there is a difference, and B) hardly anyone knows about the binary prefixes at all.

I knew the onboard graphics card on the Asus motherboard wasn’t going to dazzle, and it didn’t take long for me to figure out its limits.  Specifically, it cannot run the pretty Compiz desktop effects (3D Windows, Cube Reflection and Deformation, and Rotate Cube shown below) while running a video player (like VLC).

Compiz Desktop Effects 01 Compiz Desktop Effects 02

So now I’m looking for a proper graphics card for Hitagi, to be bought when I get the rest of her paid off…

With that settled, I began to find my programs and utilities of choice, or, barring that, the most similar replacement.  Adobe AIR, which is necessary to run TweetDeck, refuses to run under 64-bit Ubuntu (Hardy or Jaunty), so instead I’ve been using Gwibber for my Twitter client needs (mainly, so I can post to both my Twitter and Facebook status simultaneously).  I managed to find my preferred fonts, Linux Libertine and Linux Biolinum, and installing them was a simple matter of using the Terminal to copy the .ttf files to Jaunty’s font folder (/usr/share/fonts/truetype, for those who don’t know.  I didn’t.  I had to Google it). I got Evolution, Pidgin, and Skype running with no particular challenge.

All told I’m rather pleased by how Hitagi has turned out.  Her only weakness is her graphics card, which I was expecting to be the case.  If only I could just get some decent Internet service where I live, I think I’d be set.

Now to start a new project, utilizing the new tools I have at my disposal…

Leave a Reply

 
