Tricontahedral Solitudinarian

The name doesn't really mean anything

And I Name Her “Hitagi”

Posted by Doug on September 12, 2009

I’m planning on building a new computer.  If all goes well, it will be completed within the week.  I have decided to name the new computer “Hitagi”, after Senjōgahara Hitagi, the tsundere female lead from Bakemonogatari.

I have the custom of naming my electronics after female anime characters.  My HP laptop is “Natsuki” (from My-HiME); my iPod is Motoko (Love Hina); my Samsung Hue cellphone is Tsuruya (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya); my two external hard drives are Chizuru (Bleach) and Maika (Magikano); and the old Compaq desktop I cut my teeth with Ubuntu on is Makoto (The Girl Who Leapt Through Time).

I’ve been wanting to build my own computer for a very long time.  I’m going to put Ubuntu 8.04 LTS in as the operating system, and as far as the processor goes, I’m thinking on an AMD Phenom II X4 955.  Hitagi’s going to have at least 4 GB of DDR3 SDRAM, with a motherboard capable of handling up to 16 GB for later upgrades.  I’m probably going to put two HDDs in, one relatively smaller one (maybe 250-320 GB) solely for the OS, and a larger one (500 GB+) for my data.

Given that I don’t plan on using Hitagi for gaming (beyond the occassional “light game” like Solitaire or whatnot), I’m going to settle for a motherboard with an integrated graphics chipset, rather than spending the additional cash for a graphics card…at least to start with.  A proper graphics card will be in mind for a future upgrade, because it’s fairly well established that even the greatest integrated graphics chipset is rather unimpressive, to say the least.  Still, forgoing the graphics card at present time (and eschewing Windows OSes) is going to be the key to keeping the price within my arbitrary budget of $800.

I will be posting a list of the exact hardware I obtain for Hitagi, my experience with the build, and with the Ubuntu operating system, in the (hopefully near) future.

Leave a Reply

 
